Overview Of Little Sahara State Park
Open: Year Round
Latitude / Longitude: 36.527795, -98.878531
Managed by: Oklahoma State
$10 for all drivers and passengers.
Passengers under 10 years old are free.
Location: Northwest Oklahoma
The dunes are 5 minutes south of Waynoka, OK.
Drive 3.2 miles south on US 281
Little Sahara Sand Dunes
Oklahoma had the foresight to purchase this land in 1960 and overtime it eventually morphed into the OHV area it is today.
This park is open year round with camping also available year round.
September to May is the best weather for riding. June is in the high 80s with July and August averaging in the mid 90s.
Little Sahara boast over 1,600 acres of sand dunes, ranging in height from 25 to 75 feet. These are natural dunes that were formed by thousands of years of blowing sand.
It has all the dune riding you’d expect – bowls, rolling hills, jumps and open areas.
Of course there’s a comp hill, it’s just not as steep or challenging as some other dunes. But, even without the big steep climbs, it more than makes up for it with enough terrain variety to keep all riders happy.
It’s a whole lot of fun to open it up on the long stretches with wide low rolling hills.
This is a convenient destination for a quick getaway, great for families with children. If you don’t have your own machine, they can easily be rented outside the park.
The campgrounds are conveniently located to the riding area with showers are available.
Little Sahara Campground
$22 with electric and water hookups
+$5 Premium site
- Senior Discount: Campers 62 years and older receive $2 off the daily rate for standard RV and tent campsites. Utility fees are not discounted.
- Total disability discount is 50% of the base rate for standard RV and tent campsites. Utility and premium campsite fees are not discounted.
- Age/disability ID and verification must be supplied.
- Senior discounts are also offered on other recreational features.
ADA Accessible: Yes
- 86 Reservable RV sites with water and electric
- Reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance
- Camping is available year round
- 143 tent sites
- 30 / 50 amp
- Dump station
- Pets allowed
- Pull through sites
- Picnic area
- Concessions available during the busy season
- Camping reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance.
- This park is open year round.
- Cows sometimes make their way into the riding area.
- There’s a viewing platform for checking out the action
Park Safety Rules And Regulations
- Ride at your own risk.
- Stay within the posted park boundaries.
- Whip flags required. Must be 10 feet from the ground to the top of the whip.
- The whip flag must measure 6″ x 12″ and be attached within 10″ of the whip’s tip. Must be solid orange color.
- Vehicle powered lights are required for night time use, bright white for the front and red for the rear.
- Dune buggies and 4×4 vehicles must have a roll bar strong enough to support the weight of the vehicle and they must also be equipped with seat belts for all riders.
- Full coverage helmets are strongly suggested.
- Operators less than 18 years old must wear a helmet.
- No passengers are allowed on ATVs unless the vehicle is specifically manufactured for a passenger.
ATV Laws In Oklahoma
- All operators and/or passengers less than 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.
- It is illegal to carry a passenger unless the vehicle is designed specifically by the manufacturer to carry passengers in addition to the operator.
- Parents, legal guardians, the person responsible for a minor, or the owner of an OHV operated by a minor is legally responsible for any law violations committed by a minor operator.
- Oklahoma does not allow street legal OHVs.
- You are legally allowed to cross roads and highways that bisect trails if you have a driver’s license, but only during the day. This rule does not apply to divided highways or streets or highways with a posted speed limit of more than thirty-five (35) miles per hour in the area of the crossing.
Oklahoma OHV Registration
- Oklahoma requires all ATVs and off-road motorcycles (ORMs) to be registered (Cost is $11. This is a one time, non-reoccurring fee.)
- If your OHV is registered in your home state, that is legal. No special permits are required.
Pin it to share it!